New From Anxiety Press: What Happened?

Anxiety Press is pleased to announce the release of: What Happened? by Mark SaFranko


What Happened? is a must-read collection of poetry that refuses to shy away from the pain and ugliness of life, and instead, confronts it head-on, leaving the reader with a sense of catharsis and understanding.

SaFranko’s ability to tap into the human condition and convey it through poetry is truly remarkable, making this collection an important addition to any reader's bookshelf.


“Mark SaFranko will one day be remembered as one of the greatest American writers of the early 21st century….”
(3:AM Magazine)

“…if you’re a true reader, with an open mind, an eye for well-crafted prose, and you want a change of pace from the gluey word porridge you’ve been scarfing lately, you can’t go wrong with…any of SaFranko’s work.”
(Toro magazine)

“The tradition of Great American writers is continued today by one Mark SaFranko….”
(The Guardian)

About the Author

Mark SaFranko started writing at a young age. He attended schools in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. His mundane working life has consisted of a multitude of jobs: political risk analyst, dating advice ghostwriter, freight loader, teacher, landscaper’s assistant, deliveryman, truck driver, clothes salesman, astrologer, short order cook, fast food worker, bank clerk, proofreader, bar musician, government pensions clerk, brewery worker, reporter, telephone solicitor, stock clerk, and chauffeur, among others. His novels include Hating Olivia (Harper Perennial and 13E Note Editions, named one of Virgin France’s Favorite Summer Reads of 2009), No Strings (Thomas & Mercer and Black Coffee Press, named one of Blackheart Magazine’s best books of 2012), The Suicide (Honest Publishing, named one of Foyles Best Novels of 2014), Lounge Lizard (13e Note Editions, Murder Slim Press), God Bless America (13e Note Editions, Murder Slim Press), Dirty Work (13e Note Editions, Murder Slim Press), One False Step (Editions La Dragonne), Hopler’s Statement (River Jack Books), and The Favor (Aegina Press). They have collected rave reviews and a cult following in Europe, especially in the French-speaking countries and the United Kingdom. He has published more than 90 stories in magazines and journals internationally, including the renowned Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine. In 2005 he won the Frank O’Connor Award from descant magazine for his short fiction. He was cited in Best American Mystery Stories 2000 and has been nominated twice for a Pushcart Prize. In addition he is also a playwright; whose plays have been seen in many New York venues as well as in theaters in both Londonderry, Northern Ireland, and Cork, Ireland. In 1992 his one-act play “The Bitch-Goddess” was selected Best Play of the Village Gate One-Act Festival in New York. As an actor he has appeared both onstage and in several independent films, including Inner Rage and A Better Place, as well as a featured role in truTV’s Forensic Files and several commercials. A composer and musician, his music is available through iTunes, Spotify and other online stores. He is also a painter whose work has been exhibited in France.


Popular Posts